Sources of Teaching

The teaching of the Catholic Church is based on the following:

Picture depicting the 12 Apostles and Jesus, at the last supper (Click the image to read on Doctrines of the Sacraments)
  1. Sacred Tradition
  2. Sacred Scripture
  3. The Living Magisterium (Teaching office of the Church; Pope, Bishops, and Theologians)
  4. Human Reason and Experience.

Sacred Tradition.

The Tradition of the Catholic Church existing for 2019 years, communicates the Word of God and closely united with the Scripture, together communicate this Word, without error. Tradition interprets the Scripture and the Scripture preserves the tradition and the Living Magisterium is the custodian of the Word of God.

Sacred Scripture

The Word of God is written and preserved in a Library of Books organised in a Canon. The books together form what we refer to as the Bible and this Bible consists of the Old Testament and the New Testament.

Scripture and Tradition

Both the Tradition and Scripture communicate the Word of God in its entirety, How can this be? First; the Scripture guides and preserves the Tradition in such a way that the Tradition does not commit an error. By this fact, the Tradition is inspired to communicate the message of the Word of God in our context, takes the Scripture written in a different time and interprets it into our time. Secondly; Tradition interprets the scripture in its entirety.

Look at this example, In the first letter to the Corinthians, Paul writes to the women that they should cover their hair when they come to a place of worship, so does this apply to our time? and different cultures?

Although it is a permanent record, it is to be interpreted to our time and to the different cultures. There are so many cultures in the world where we see women don’t even cover their breast and not just hair.

Paul writes to Corinth where prostitutes used would attract men with their hair, therefore, the culture in Corinth was to have women cover their hair in places of worship. If Paul wrote in our time (2019), he would have told women to wear long skirts, men to not sug their trousers and the young and vibrant youth be descent in the styles of their liturgical dancing.

Today hair is a sign of decency and aesthetics.

The seven Sacraments

Marian Domas

Essential Items for the Holy Mass

Infant Baptism

Living Magisterium

The Teaching office is charged with the responsibility of Making disciples, Baptizing and teaching all the commands of Christ (Matt.28:18-20)

The teaching office of the Church under the guidance of the Pope and the college of Bishops. The Church is organised in Dioceses (ArchDioceses)/Eparchys/Patriarchates and each of these Diocese/Eparchy/Patriarchates is headed by a Bishop. The Pope in the Roman Catholic Church occupies the seat of Peter, the Bishop of Rome and is considered as the first among the equals. Therefore, a Bishop/Patriarch is the First teacher in His Diocese/Patriarch.

The teaching office of the Church constitutes also of the Priests and Theologians as well as Lay Theologians. The teaching office is the members who proclaim the doctrines of the Church in so far as it is and according to the Teachings of this Church.

Therefore, the teachers of the Church are the Custodians of Both the Scripture and Tradition.

Human Reason and Human Experience

It is great to have the doctrines proclaimed in a reasonable and understandable manner to the contemporary(ordinary) believer. What is taught by the Church, makes sense and is reasonable? Human experience is the most important component to impart this Word of God to the faithful. It is only through experience that we, human beings are able to learn and respond according to how we understand the teachings of the Church. Historically, we learn from the past experiences and in current, we get knowledge through the use of the five senses. Without the five senses, we cannot learn anything (Sight, Smell, Sound, Touch and Taste). If I am blind, dumb, can’t hear, can’t use my nose, no tongue and lack the sense of touch, will I be able to learn anything?

The seven Sacraments

Marian Domas

Essential Items for the Holy Mass

Infant Baptism

Return to the site page…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *